Rss

Ceramics Arts at PV

Home Forums Share Your View! Ceramics Arts at PV

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Robert Oshima 2 years, 6 months ago.

• Author

Robert Oshima
    Participant

I am a long time resident of Encinitas and am pleased at the City’s actions in saving the Pacific View Property. I am writing to ask you to consider the inclusion of a ceramic arts studio in the plan for the Pacific View property development. This would be consistent with the general plan of an art center and would meet several critical needs.

1. There is currently a shortage of ceramic arts facilities available to Encinitas residents, particularly senior citizens. San Dieguito Adult education provides once weekly night classes using the facilities of San Dieguito High School, currently taught by Mr. Mike McClure. This is an excellent, long running introduction to ceramics and efficient utilization of facilities. However, the limited availability of this facility (2.5 hrs/week), restricts intermediate and advanced students from pursuing the art more seriously. In addition, the current facility is severely restricted in space due to temporary nature of the current studio and the primary purpose of serving daytime high school students.

Mira Costa College provides two excellent classes in Ceramics 1 and 2, which Encinitas residents can access. However, again the primary propose of this studio, as it should be, is to served the full time college students. Adult students are restricted from taking these classes more than twice. Thus opportunity of instruction and utilizing the equipment and resources necessary for pottery and ceramic arts is limited for adults.

No private studios that provide instruction and access to ceramics facilities are available in Encinitas o, as far as I know. Currently private facilities are available in San Marcos, Escondido and downtown San Diego but the distance is restrictive.